Seljord, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Norway > Telemark County > Seljord

Contents

Church Records

Seljord clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Seljord (Sillejord), Flatdal and Åmotsdal. Earlier records were lost in fires in 1654 and 1689. See Hjartdal clerical district film 126944 book 1 for a few entries for the year 1713.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1655-1927.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Seljord: 1654-1814, 1831-1886

Seljord / Flatdal: 1815-1854, 1863-1921

Seljord / Seljord: 1815-1914

Seljord / Åmotsdal: 1815-1849, 1872-1926

Census Records

  • 1664-1666 Census Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall. This census was taken by the local civil authorities. Øvre og Nedre Telemarken fogderi b. 6 was for Seljord clerical district and included Seljord parish, Flatdalannex and Aamotsdal (Åmotsdal) annex. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Film 122978 Item 1

Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet, Øvre Telemark fogderi, Nedre Telemark fogderi, Bamble fogderi, Manntall 6, 1664. Digitalarkivet also has an online database, Manntall 1663-66 for Bamle, Øvre og Nedre Telemark.

  • 1664-1666 Census Sogneprestenes manntall. This census was taken by the local parish priests. Øvre og Nedre Telemarken prosti b. 12 was forSeljord clerical district and included Seljord parish, Flatdalannex and Aamotsdal (Åmotsdal) annex. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Film 122968 Item 5

Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet, Øvre Telemark prosti, Nedre Telemark prosti, Bamble prosti, Manntall 12, 1664 - 1666.

  • 1801 Census The 1801 census for Seljord clerical district includes Seljord, Flatdal, and Åmotsdal parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 122998 Item 3. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet. 1801-telling for 0828 Sillejord
  • 1815 Census The 1815 census for Seljord clerical district includes Seljord, Flatdal, and Åmotsdal parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 1694667 Item 2. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet. Folketeljinga for Seljord 1815
  • 1865 Census The 1865 census for Seljord clerical district includes Seljord, Flatdal, and Åmotsdal parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 123161 Item 1. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet. 1865-telling for 0828 Silgjord
  • 1875 Census The 1875 census for Seljord clerical district includes Seljord, Flatdal, and Åmotsdal parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Films 255725-255726.
  • 1900 Census The 1900 census for Seljord clerical district includes Seljord, Flatdal, and Åmotsdal parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Films 275266-175167. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet. 1900-telling for 0828 Seljord

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

60 Aarhus 47 Aaseim lille 52 Aasene 30 Bakken 2 Bjørge 38 Bjørndalen 49 Braaten 11 Brekke nedre 12 Brekketo 21 Dale 54 Dalen 15 Dalene med Haugestøl 55 Eisand 49 Feten 17 Fiskhøl 3 Fjostuft 20 Gaasedalen 17 Garvik 36 Gjuve 45 Glosimot 44 Grave 23 Graveli 48 Groven 35 Hartoll 21 Haslevik 52 Haugen 8 Holtestøl 4 Igletveit 24 Jamgrav 34 Jordet 56 Kaasen 12 Kaldal 29 Kasland 26 Kippestøl 52 Kivle 39 Klomset nedre 37 Kodde 33 Kovedølen 25 Kvaalskar 32 Li 32 Lisland 34 Loftsgaarden 44 Lykka 5 Maneim 28 Meaas 43 Midbøen 16 Nes ytre 46 Nes øvre 41 Nordgaarden 42 Oppebøen 17 Paalbu 61 Præstaarhus 1 Præstegaarden 31 Rauberg 58 Reinstøl 51 Rostøl 6 Rugtveit 38 Rui 10 Skarkevje 52 Skriustøl 36 Skrøiva 2 Skutevolden 39 Slaattemyrene 51 Slettestøl 7 Strand 51 Sundsbarm 24 Sønstetveit 14 Telnes 3 To 2 Trangklev 52 Tresland 57 Tveitehaugen 57 Tveiten 59 Tvingeli 35 Ubystølen 13 Ulveneset 44 Utbøen 45 Utgaarden 8 Vefald nordre 8 Vefaldsøerne 53 Venaas 19 Vindal 27 Øfstetveit 18 Øverland 22 Øverland 54 Øverland

Probate Records

Øvre Telemark judicial district
*1665-1866 Family History Library

Øvre Telemark østfjelske judicial district
*1668-1845 Digitalarkivet

Øvre Telemark vestfjelske judicial district
*1665-1850 Digitalarkivet

Øvre Telemark deanery
*1753-1817 Family History Library
*1707-1817 Digitalarkivet

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 January 2014, at 19:44.
  • This page has been accessed 943 times.