Sevenoaks, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Sevenoaks, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Sevenoaks, Kent
Sevenoaks St Nicholas Kent.jpg
Sevenoaks St Nicholas Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Codsheath
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sevenoaks PLU
Registration District Sevenoaks
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Sevenoaks St Nicholas is the primary Ancient parish in the market town of Sevenoaks Kent. Sevenoaks Wikipedia

Sevenoaks St Nicholas parish boundary included Riverhead, Weald and Kippington; a map of this and other Sevenoaks parishes may be found at A church near you

Sevenoaks Weald, Kent is a former chapelry and the subsequent churches of St Luke Kent Churches website, St Mary and St John the Baptist were formed from parts of the Ancient Parish.

The church dates from the 13th century with rebuilding in the fifteenth century.The church of St Nicholas High Street Sevenoaks has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 60-105. Date accessed: 12 October 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Sevenoaks North West Kent Family History Society which includes other places of worship in the town.

Sevenoaks St Nicholas

Weald St George Sevenoaks Weald, Kent

Riverhead St Mary see Riverhead, Kent

Sevenoaks St John the Baptist see kent Churches website

Kippington St Mary

Resources

Civil Registration

See Sevenoaks Registration District 1837-1941 Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sevenoaks St Nicholas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Sevenoaks St Nicholas Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1906


FS BTs 1813-1890 1813-1890 1813-1890
FS PRs 1559-1879 1559-1898; 1754-1900 (banns) 1559-1887
IGI 1816-1839

Sevenoaks St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Sevenoaks St John Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1897-1907

Kippington St Mary registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Kippington St Mary Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1896-1904

Census records

Census returns for Sevenoaks 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

A Parish workhouse at St John's Hill which could accommodate up to 80 people existed in the 18th century and upon creation of Sevenoaks Poor Law Union, Kent the Union decided to enlarge these premises; however criticism of the resulting conditions lead to the Union building a new workhouse at Sundridge and the sale of the former St John's Hill land and buildings in the mid 1840's.

See England, Kent, Workhouse Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within reach of the Sevenoaks district, located adjacent to Orpington Station.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  2. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 19:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,610 times.