Seychelles GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Seychelles ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Seychelles is an archipelago of over 100 islands that are widely scattered in the West Indian Ocean. The principal island is Mahe which is mountainous with towering rugged crests, boulders and cliffs, although sandy beaches surround the coastline. In general, the islands are divided into two groups, 1) the granite islands which number 32; and 2) the coralline islands which number over 60.
A lengthy struggle between France and Great Britain for the islands ended in 1814, when they were ceded to the latter. Independence came in 1976. Socialist rule was brought to a close with a new constitution and free elections in 1993. President France-Albert RENE, who had served since 1977, was re-elected in 2001, but stepped down in 2004. Vice President James MICHEL took over the presidency and in July 2006 was elected to a new five-year term.
Getting started with Seychelles research
Seychelles has 23 administrative districts.
- African & Mid-Eastern Reading Room: Seychelles
- Looking 4 Kin Genealogy & Family History Network - Seychelles
(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
- This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 18:48.
- This page has been accessed 3,620 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More