Sheffield St Philip, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sheffield St Philip, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Sheffield St Philip, Yorkshire|
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Sheffield|
|Registration District||Ecclesall Bierlow; Sheffield|
|Parish registers: 1828|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
SHEFFIELD ST Philip is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1848 from Sheffield [St Peter and St Paul] Ancient Parish; located on Infirmary Road and Penistone Road. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Sheffield, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Christians, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, General Baptist, Independent/Congregational, Irvingite/Catholic Apostolic Church, Jewish, Methodist New Connexion, Particular Baptist, Presbyterian Unitarian, Protestant Dissenters, Roman Catholic, Society of Friends/Quaker, Unitarian, Wesleyan Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist Association.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from parish registers of Sheffield St Philip exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|SHEFFIELD ST PHILIP PARISH (1848) Online Records|
|FS|| 1667, 1801-1910
|| 1715-1867, 1880-1882
|| 1719, 1814-1815
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464280.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2015, at 13:29.
- This page has been accessed 2,743 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News