Sheldon, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sheldon, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Sheldon, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sheldon, Derbyshire
SheldonsChurch Derbyshire.jpg
SheldonsChurch Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred High Peake
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Bakewell PLU
Registration District Bakewell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1737
Bishop's Transcripts: 1675
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bakewell
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHELDON, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Bakewell, hundred of High Peak, N. division of thecounty of Derby, 3 miles (W.) from Bakewell. It is a perpetual curacy. The chapel is dedicated to All Saints. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sheldon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Sheldon St Michael and All Angels (1737) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1748-1912
  NONE
1747-1911
  NONE
1853-1912
  NONE

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1672- 1844 Mar 1672-1836 Burials 1672-1844 Missing Bap/Bur 1841-1842

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241289.

Poor Law Unions

Bakewell Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sheldon on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 66-69. Date accessed: 27 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 922 times.