Shellingford, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Shellingford, Berkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes 

Guide to Shellingford, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shellingford, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ganfield
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Faringdon
Registration District Faringdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1578
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office


Parish History

SHELLINGFORD, a parish, with a village, in Faringdon district, Berks; 2½ miles SE of Faringdon r. station. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Shellingford, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images





OFHS 1578-1899


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241200.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Shellingford in GENUKI


  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.
  5. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 20:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,298 times.