Shenandoah County, Virginia GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Shenandoah County Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Shenandoah County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Shenandoah County, Virginia Courthouse
Shenandoah County, Virginia
112 S Main Street
P O Box 406
Woodstock, Virginia 22664
Formerly Dunmore County, Name changed to Shenandoah 1 Feb 1778
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1772
Shenandoah County, Virginia History
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
For a list of record loss in Virginia counties see: Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses
Shenandoah County, Virginia Places/Localities
Shenandoah County, Virginia Genealogy Resources
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Shenandoah County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1978):210-213. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
- Good, Rebecca H. and Rebecca A. Ebert. Finding Your People in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia: A Genealogical Guide. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1998. 4th ed. FHL Book 975 D27e 1998
Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872.
"Shenandoah County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1818," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
- Tombstone Transcription Project Shenandoah County - cemetery transcriptions - USGenWeb
- Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather, comp. Cemetery Records of Shenandoah County, Virginia. Vol. I. Chillicothe, MO, USA: Elizabeth Prather Ellsberry, c1965. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
For tips on accessing Shenandoah County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
- Shenandoah County Heads of Families - 1783 at U.S. Census Bureau - free. County begins on page 63.
- Shenandoah County Heads of Families - 1785 at U.S. Census Bureau - free. County begins on page 104.
1820 - Exists, but the National Archives microfilm copy of Shenandoah County, Virginia omits pages 150a and 150b. The missing names have been published in The Virginia Genealogist:
- Petty, Gerald M. "Virginia 1820 Federal Census: Names Not on the Microfilm Copy," The Virginia Genealogist 18, no 2 (April-June 1974):136-139.
- The list is also available online at the Shenandoah County GenWeb Project. See 1820 Census page 150, Shenandoah County, Virginia for digital copies of the missing Shenandoah County pages.
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
Shenandoah County fell within the bounds of the Culpeper Association and the Ketocton Association.
Church of England
See also Beckford Parish.
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):
- Smith's Creek Monthly Meeting (1736-1810) aka Broadway
- Indexed images of Shenandoah County, Virginia Chancery Records 1772-1927 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.
More than 100 genealogies have been published about Shenandoah County families. To view a list, visit Shenandoah County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.
Land and Property
Grants and Patents
- Crown. 84 patents dated 1749-1858 in what is now Shenandoah County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. 2005. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
- Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants, 1742-1775. Vol. II. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1997. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Shenandoah County (then called Dunmore County).]
- Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants, 1775-1800. Vol. III. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1993. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes Shenandoah County.]
- Cartmell, T. K. Shenandoah Valley Pioneers and Their Descendants: A History of Frederick County, Virginia (Illustrated) from Its Formation in 1738 to 1908, Compiled Mainly from Original Records of Old Frederick County, Now Hampshire, Berkeley, Shenandoah, Jefferson, Hardy, Clarke, Warren, Morgan and Frederick. n.p.: n.p., c1909. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.59 H2c 1963; FHL US/CAN Film 1000634 Item 1; digital version at Ancestry ($); FamilySearch Books Online and World Vital Records ($). [3 copies at FHL.]
- Wayland, John Walter. A History of Shenandoah County, Virginia. Strasburg, Va.: Shenandoah Pub. House, 1927. Available at FHL; 1980 reprint at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($).
- History of Shenandoah County, Virginia. Free Lookups Available!
- Massanutten Area Atlas. Original records, Shenandoah County Archives, Woodstock, Va. Microfilmed reproduction available at FHL. [This is a bound book of hand drawn maps showing property boundaries for grant map, ca. 1748-1915. It covers parts of Shenandoah, Warren and Page counties.]
- Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1977):49-53. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Shenandoah County's 1789 Delinquent List appears on pp. 49-50.]
French and Indian War
- Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Shenandoah County militia officers and veterans; see place name index.]
Regiments. Service men in Shenandoah County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Shenandoah County supplied soldiers for the:
"A Copy of the men drafted and listed March 19 1781 Agreeable to an act of assembly for the County of Shenandoah," transcribed and annotated by James L. Lynch, is available for free online, courtesy: Southern Campaigns of the American Revolution.
Additional resources include:
- Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington, D.C.: n.p., 1903. FHL Collection; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Roster of Capt. Thomas Buck's company, enlisted from Dunmore county (now Shenandoah), Sept. 5, 1777, see pp. 178-180.]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Shenandoah County on page 136.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.]
War of 1812
Shenandoah County men served in the 13th and 97th Regiments.
- Shenandoah County, Virginia War of 1812 Soldiers
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Shenandoah County, p. 103-104. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Regiments. Service men in Shenandoah County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Shenandoah County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 7th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Ashby's) (Confederate). Company C (Shenandoah Rangers), Company K (Captain William Miller).
- - 10th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Strasburg Guards) and Company F (Muhlenburg Rifles).
- - 11th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry. Company E (Potomac Mounted Riflemen or Valley Mounted Riflemen).
- - 12th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company J.
- - 18th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company D.
- - 35th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).
Records and histories are available, including:
- Shenandoah County Virginia Men in Gray. 2 vols. Free Lookups Available!
- 11th Virginia Cavalry. Free Lookups Available!
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Shenandoah County.
- May 15, 1864 = New Market
- September 21-22, 1864 = Fisher's Hill
- October 9, 1864 = Tom's Brook, also known as Woodstock Races
- October 19, 1864 = Cedar Creek, also known as Belle Grove
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Shenandoah County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.
- 2007-present - Northern Virginia Daily (Strasburg, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
- 2009-present - Shenandoah Valley-Herald (Woodstock, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
- Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Woodstock silversmiths.]
Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
- Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather, comp. Will Records of Shenandoah County, Virginia 1771-91. Chillicothe, MO, USA: Elizabeth Prather Ellsberry, c1965. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
'Online Probate Links
- 1639 – 1850 Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 at Ancestry.com — index to transcribed records, incomplete, $
- [1782-1818] Heinegg, Paul. "Shenandoah County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1818," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
-  Tax List 1783 - Shenandoah County (VAGenWeb) - free. Images and transcription.
-  Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Online at FamilySearch - free; FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Shenandoah County is included in Vol. 1.]
-  Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1977):49-53. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Shenandoah County's 1789 Delinquent List appears on pp. 49-50.]
- [1789, 1799] Indexed images of the 1789 and 1799 Personal Property Tax Lists of Shenandoah County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
-  Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is 1815 land tax. Shenandoah County is included in Vol. 4.]
-  Land Tax Roll, 1815, Frederick Findings. Mechanicsville VA: Summer 1996. Vol. 8 Iss. 2; Fall 1995. Vol. 8 Iss. 3; Winter 1995. Vol. 8 Iss. 4; Spring 1996. Vol. 9 Iss. 1; Summer 1996. Vol. 9 Iss. 2; Fall 1996. Vol. 9 Iss. 3; Winter 1996. Vol. 9 Iss. 4; Winter 1998. Vol. 10 Iss. 1; Spring 1998. Vol. 10 Iss. 2. FHL Book 975.59 D25f.
Indexes to Shenandoah County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
- 1872- - Shenandoah County, Virginia Births (VAGenWeb) - free.
Beth Fridley has published abstracts of the following Shenandoah County, Virginia birth records online at Ancestry:
- Shenandoah County, Virginia Births, 1853-71 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
- Shenandoah County, Virginia Births, 1872-77 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
- Shenandoah County, Virginia Births, 1878-90 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
- Shenandoah County, Virginia Births, 1891-96 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
- 1772-1850 - Ashby, Bernice M. Shenandoah County Marriage Bonds, 1772-1850. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1996. FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($).
Take care when using published abstracts of early marriages of Shenandoah County. Editors who originally did this work did not understand German very well.
- 1660-1800 - Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1851-1880 - Virginia Marriages 1851-1880 (Ancestry) ($).
- Shenandoah County Marriage Records (VAGenWeb) - free.
Vital Record Substitutes
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
- 1786-1827 - Shenandoah County Church Records of Births 1786-1827: Zion-Pine Church, Shenandoah County - free.
Shenandoah County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- Central Virginia Genealogical Association
- Shenandoah County Library
- 300 Stoney Creek Blvd
- Edinburg, Virginia 22824
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Shenandoah County, Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Shenandoah County, Virginia USGENWEB
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Shenandoah County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- Cyndi's List
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Shenandoah County, Virginia. Page 721 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 229-230. Digital version at Google Books.
- ↑ William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
- ↑ Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
- ↑ E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 67-68. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
- ↑ J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 44. Digitized by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 194. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 7th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 88.
- ↑ Terrence V. Murphy, 10th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 55.
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 11th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 52.
- ↑ Dennis E. Frye, 12th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 42.
- ↑ Roger U. Delauter, 18th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 18.
- ↑ John E. Divine, 35th Battalion Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 19.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August 2012).
- ↑ 18.0 18.1 18.2 18.3 18.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 1 February 2016, at 01:52.
- This page has been accessed 58,596 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News