Sherburn House, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sherburn House, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Sherburn House, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sherburn House, Durham
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Durham PLU
Registration District Durham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHERBURN, a township, partly in the parish of Pittington, and partly in that of Shadforth, S. division of Easington ward, union, and N. division of the county, of Durham, 2¾ miles (E.) from Durham. [1]

Additional information: Sherburn House or Hospital is an extra parochial place and is perhaps best understood by the title of the ancient hospital: "the Liberties of Christ's Hospital in Sherburn".

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/225
Date: 1813-1835 Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The  Registers for the period 1678-1905 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/ShH).

Baptism and/or marriage registers for the period 1692-1812 are indexed in the International Genealogical Index. Marriages for the period 1695-1763 are indexed in Boyd's Marriage Index.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241355.

Poor Law Unions

Durham Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:48.
  • This page has been accessed 903 times.