Shilbottle St James, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England
Shilbotel Church Northumberland.JPG
Gotoarrow.pngNorthumberlandGotoarrow.pngNorthumberland ParishesGotoarrow.pngShilbottle St James, Northumberland


Contents

Parish History

St James Shilbottle is an ancient parish and includes : Gayson, Guyson, Guyzance, Hart-Law, Hazon, Hazon and Hartlaw, Hazon with Heart-Law, Newton Moor, Newton on the Moor, Whittle, and Woodhouse. The name is also spelt Shilbotel (see Shilbotel, Northumberland)

SHILBOTTLE (St. James), a parish, in the union of Alnwick, E. division of Coquetdale ward, N. division of Northumberland; containing, with the townships of Hazon, Newton-on-the-Moor, Whittle, and Woodhouse, 1208 inhabitants, of whom 549 are in Shilbottle township, 4½ miles (S. by E.) from Alnwick. The parish comprises 5921a. 3r, 20p., of which 4400 acres are arable, 1255 pasture and meadow, and 140 woodland: the soil is a strong clay, producing grain of all kinds; and great numbers of cattle and sheep are reared and fattened for the markets. The substratum abounds with coal of good quality, of which mines are in operation. The living is a discharged vicarage, endowed with a portion of the rectorial tithes, and valued in the king's books at £4. 14. 8.; net income, £222: it is in the patronage of the Crown, and the remainder of the rectorial tithes belong to various persons. The incumbent's tithes in Shilbottle township have been commuted for £77, and the impropriators for £246: the vicar has a glebe of 18 acres. The church, which was thoroughly repaired about 1793, retains a portion of its original Norman character. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Parish Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/228 Date: 1762-1844
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Shilbottle, St James: Records of baptisms 1723-1944, marriages 1729-1986 and burials 1723-1973 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1691-1815 (with gaps) and marriages 1695-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1695-1812 and banns 1751-1312. Transcripts of baptisms 1684-1812, marriages 1695-1812 and burials 1697-1812 for Shilbottle are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Alnwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

Northumberland_Parishes

References

  1. From: 'Shilbottle - Shingham', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 80-82. British History Date accessed: 03 March 2011.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 18:58.
  • This page has been accessed 627 times.