Shipston on Stour, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Shipston on Stour, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shipston on Stour, Worcestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswaldslow
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Shipston on Stour PLU
Registration District Shipston on Stour
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kineton
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Rector of Tredington with Shipston upon Stour
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHIPSTON-upon-Stour (St. Edmund), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the Upper division of the hundred of Oswaldslow, Blockley and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, locally in the Kington division of the hundred of Kington, county of Warwick, 16 miles (S. by W.) from Warwick, and 83 (N. W. by W.) from London. The Baptists, Society of Friends, and Wesleyans have each a place of worship; and at Foxcote, in the parish, is a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Shipston on Stour, Worcestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2]
Shipston on Stour, Worcestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1850-1910 1850-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464212.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 16 October 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,230 times.