Shipton,North Riding, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire

Contents

Parish History

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Shipton,North Riding, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[1]
Shipton,North Riding, Yorkshire Genealogy PARISH Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1851-1930 1851-1930

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 13 October 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 March 2015, at 18:39.
  • This page has been accessed 362 times.