Shipton Gorge, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Shipton Gorge, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Contents

Parish History

SHIPTON-GEORGE, a parish, with a village, in Bridport district, Dorset; 2 miles E by S of Bridport railway station.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Shipton Gorge, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Images
Indexes 1790-1812 Ancestry[2]
1814-1837 findmypast[3]

Shipton Gorge, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
Shipton Gorge, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1749-1879
1719-1879
1749-1879

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241337.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, published London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 10 July 2103.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  3. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 28 July 2012.
  4. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 February 2015, at 20:54.
  • This page has been accessed 1,003 times.