Shoreditch St Leonard, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Shoreditch St Leonard, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Londonstleonardshoreditch.jpg

Here's a List of District Churches and Chapels Within St Leonard's Shoreditch Parish.

Contents

Parish History

SHOREDITCH (St. Leonard), a parish, in the Tower division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex; forming a north-eastern portion of the metropolis, and, with Haggerston and Hoxton There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyan and other Methodists.[1]

Additional information:

This parish was subdivided into numerous chapelries and district churches by 1900. Be sure to see the above link to a "List of District Churches and Chapels Within St Leonard's Shoreditch Parish" for a more complete picture as to Shoreditch's ecclesiastical makeup.

Sir Henry Ellis's 1798 history of Shoreditch Parish has been digitized.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Shoreditch St Leonard Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1558
1558
1558
Images
1558-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1876 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1558-1640 UnivBerkeley 1558-1640 UnivBerkeley 1558-1640 UnivBerkeley
1745-1875 FamilySearch[7] 1764-1851 FamilySearch[8] 1558-1745 FindMyPast[9]
    1806-1836 Ancestry[10]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438816.

1666 Hearth Tax
1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

A 1922 survey of monuments within the church and in the churchyard is available online.[11]

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Baptisms of St Leonard Workhouse from 1835 to 1861 are indexed at FamilySearch in Batch P021491[12]

Baptisms of Shoreditch Workhouse from 1836 to 1873 are indexed at FamilySearch in Batch P015591[12]

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 04 February 2014.
  2. Ellis, Henry. The History and Antiquities of the Parish of St. Leonard Shoreditch, and Liberty of Norton Folgate, in the Suburbs of London, 1798. Adapted. Date accessed: 04 February 2014.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Leonard, Shoreditch in Hackney Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Shoreditch St Leonard in Hackney Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Shoreditch St Leonard in Hackney Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Shoreditch St Leonard in Hackney Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. Batches C040801, C040802, C040803, C040804, C040805, C040806, C040807, C040808, C040809, C040811, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  8. Batches M040801, M040803, M040806, M040811, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  9. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  11. 'The Church of St. Leonard, Shoreditch', Survey of London: volume 8: Shoreditch (1922), pp. 91-125. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=98229 Date accessed: 15 March 2012.
  12. 12.0 12.1 Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:07.
  • This page has been accessed 7,724 times.