Shoshone and Bannock Indian Agency (Wyoming)Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States American Indians Wyoming Indians of Wyoming Shoshone and Bannock Indian Agency (Wyoming) Guide to Shoshone and Bannock Indian Agency (Wyoming) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency
The Shoshone and Bannock Agency was the successor to the Fort Bridger Agency and was established in 1870. Most of the Bannock moved to the Fort Hall Reservation in 1872. In 1878 some Northern Arapaho and a few Cheyenne moved onto the Wind River Reservation and came under the jurisdiction of this agency. In 1883, it became the Shoshone Agency, and in 1937, the name was changed to the Wind River Agency.
Agents and Appointment Date
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
- ↑ Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.FHL book 970.1 H551o
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.*Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.*Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.*Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.*Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online
- This page was last modified on 31 March 2015, at 18:34.
- This page has been accessed 1,084 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News