Shouldham, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Shouldham, Norfolk)

England Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Shouldham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Shouldham, Norfolk
All Saints, Shouldham, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Clackclose
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Downham
Registration District Downham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fincham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office


Parish History

SHOULDHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Downham, hundred of Clackclose, W. division of Norfolk, 6½ miles (N. E.) from Downham. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Shouldham All Saints.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Downham 1837-1974

Church records

Shouldham, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
Shouldham, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

FREG 1653-1901
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1653-1901 Undefined 1653-1903 Undefined 1653-1871

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438850.

Genealogy From Periodicals

Whitmore, Elizabeth.  Family Fortunes - Don't Forget the Wives.  Description of the family of William Whitmore, and Dorothy Batterby, and his partner Frances Cook and descendants, including a Family Tree dating from 1661-1970, with surnames Horn, Rutland, Caney, Tuddenham, Miller, Morris and Dixon.  The descendants moved from Shouldham, to Feltwell, Brandon Suffolk, and Grimsby Lincs.  Article in The Norfolk Ancestor, new series vol. 2, pt. 9, pages 553-555. Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j new ser. v2, pt 9.

Poor Law Unions

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Downham Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 90-93. Date accessed: 03 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 17:20.
  • This page has been accessed 2,214 times.