Shropshire, England GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Shropshire ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|News and Events|
|* Shropshire Family History Society Meetings (3rd Tuesday)|
| Key topics to get started:
|Did You Know?|
| *The world's first bridge to be made out of cast iron was built across the River Severn at Ironbridge in 1779.
|How to edit this sidebar|
England along its border with Wales. Traditionally the county was bounded by the English counties of Cheshire; Staffordshire; Worcestershire and Herefordshire; and the historic Welsh counties of Denbighshire; Flintshire; Montgomeryshire and Radnorshire.
Shropshire is one of England's most rural and sparsely populated counties, although it also played an important role in the Industrial Revolution.
The county town is the history town of Shrewsbury, although the new town of Telford, built around the towns of Wellington, Dawley and Madeley, is the largest town in the county.
Much of Shropshire was previously within Wales, and formed the eastern part of the ancient Kingdom of Powys. It was annexed to Saxon Mercia by King Offa in the eighth century.
Motto: Floreat Salopia
Browse by Topic: All pages for Shropshire
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Shropshire.
Search for more on the Shropshire/Towns and Parishes.
- Parish: an area of varying size under the responsibility of a clergyman of the Church of England
- Hundred: a group of two or more parishes
- Sub-district: comprised of more than one civil parish
- Registration District
- Poor Law Union
Civil Registration Districts
When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Shropshire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes.The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place. Click here to see a list of the civil districts in Shropshire and the parishes covered by each. Read more about England Civil Registration.
See a list of parishes of Shropshire with links to articles.
Before 1858, every town and parish in Shropshire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts. To read more about probate records and see a list of Shropshire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Shropshire Probate Records.
Things you can do
- Visit the Shropshire Archive in Shrewsbury.
- Shropshire (Salop) Resources and help pages on RootsChat Shropshire (Salop) Resources and help pages. (Free).
- Findmypast has digitised this county's parish record collection
To view a further list of web sites and/or web pages for Shropshire and many of its parishes, visit FHLFavorites.info.
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Shropshire
|Denbighshire, Wales||Cheshire|| Cheshire
- This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 01:59.
- This page has been accessed 13,249 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News