Shutlanger, Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Shutlanger, Northamptonshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.pngNorthamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Shutlanger, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shutlanger, Northamptonshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cleley
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Towcester PLU
Registration District Towcester
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Stoke Bruerne
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Preston
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHUTTLEHANGER, a chapelry, in the parish of Stoke-Bruerne, union of Towcester, hundred of Cleley, S. division of the county of Northampton, 2¾ miles (E. N. E.) from the town of Towcester. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists in the chapelry. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438873.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 November 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 May 2015, at 19:40.
  • This page has been accessed 913 times.