Sikeston Missouri Family History CenterEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.|
The Sikeston Family History Center is dedicated to providing education and support for the family history community in the Sikeston area. The Family History Center is open to the public, who are invited to use the resources free of charge. Trained volunteers are available during Center hours and by appointment to assist patrons. r>
Center Contacts and Hours
Location and Map:
- 827 Euclid Dr Sikeston MO 63801-4602 United States
Closed all major holidays:
Calendar and Events
Staff Training Meetings
Family Tree Training
Introduction to FamilySearch Tree:
FREE Online Genealogy Forms and Training
Online Training Courses
Online Research Training Videos
The following list is just a sampling of many of the ResearchTraining Videos that are available from the above link at the Learning Center Home page.
- United States
Online Training Videos
- 5 Minute Genealogy Videos Series. This video series is all about helping you quickly discover your family history. Each episode will guide you through basic research principles that will help you have success finding your ancestors.
Provide 1-on-1 family history training, assistance and support
Offer Family History classes
Provide other family history resources and materials
- FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog.
Databases and Software
- FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. (Note to FHC: Not all FHCs have access to this portal. If you do not, you will want to remove this entire bullet. If you do have access to it, just remove this text in italics.)
Hardware and Equipment
- (Include the resources you have to help individuals do their research - computers, microfilm readers, printers, etc. )
Staff Research Specialties
Resources in the Local Area
(This section is to highlight other resources in your area that will be helpful for individuals doing research there in your location, if there are any, such as government offices, historical societies, etc.)
Other Family History and Library Centers and Resources
- Find A Grave
- BYU Center for Family History and Genealogy
- BYU Family History Library
- Logan Utah Family History Center
- Mesa Arizona Family History Center
- Research WIKI
- Riverton Utah Family History Center
- Salt Lake City Family History Library
- Utah South Area Family History Training Center
Volunteer at the Center
Would you like to learn more about Family History? Those who serve always learn the most!
Family Search Blog
A terrific resource to keep up on what is going on and available in Family Search FamilySearch Blog
Let’s Get Acquainted with the Family Search Wiki (WIK-ee)
Family Search users don’t always think to look at this valuable tool because they aren’t sure what it is and how valuable it can be to our research efforts. So, in Family Search’s words: “The FamilySearch Wiki is not about finding the names of your ancestors. It is not, in fact, about finding people at all.
- The Wiki is about finding records that may have been generated about your ancestors and the places in which the records might be found.
*It is a vast record depository of the paper trail that people leave behind long after they are gone.
*The Wiki has records from the United States as well as from 244 countries.
*Here you will be able to find documents such as census records, marriage records, birth records and death records and much more.
*Probate documents are often very informative and may help you in your search. There is an extensive list of United States military records on the Wiki .”
Recently a friend in Illinois went into the FamilySearch Wiki and found phone numbers for the Surrogate Court in New York that held wills. She found six missing wills!
Take time to explore the opening page of this site there are tutuorials and examples and lots of help in learning the Wiki. Got stuck in your research? Look to the Wiki for help. How do I find the FamilySearch Wiki?
- Familysearch.org Search (drop down menu) Wiki
*(open FamilySearch.org and go to Search at top of page which will give you a dropdown menu and then click on Wiki)
*How to Use the Wiki -- Wiki_Help
*About the Wiki -- Find an ancestor using the wiki
Family Search Apps for Smart Phones and Tablets
Family Search Hacks to Help Find Temple Names Faster
Unreserved Reservations after Two Years
- This page was last modified on 16 September 2015, at 14:23.
- This page has been accessed 946 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News