Sileby, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sileby, Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Sileby, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sileby, Leicestershire
St Mary Sileby Leicestershire.jpg
St Mary Sileby, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Barrow upon Soar PLU
Registration District Barrow upon Soar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Goscote
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SILEBY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Barrow-upon-Soar, hundred of East Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 1½ mile (E.) from Mountsorrel. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sileby, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Sileby, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1568-1907
1575-1902
1568-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office Telephone: 0116 2571080 Fax: 0116 2571120 E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Sileby Bap 1568 - 1656;1683 - 1968 Marr 1568 - 1656; 1683 - 2000 (Banns to1990) Bur 1568 - 1654;1683 - 1986

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438743.

Poor Law Unions

Barrow upon Soar Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 107-110. Date accessed: 30 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,030 times.