Silian, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Silian, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngSilian

A guide to genealogy in Silian, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Silian is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Dyffryn Aeron in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

SILIAN (SULIEN), a parish in the upper division of the hundred of MOYTHEN, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 2 miles (N. by W.) from Lampeter. This parish, which is situated in the south-eastern portion of the county, derives its name from the saint to whom its church is dedicated, who flourished during the earlier part of the sixth century. It comprises but a moderate extent of arable and pasture land, which is partly enclosed : the surface is varied, and the soil is in some parts tolerably fertile. The village is in some degree enlivened by its situation on the great turnpike roads leading from Aberystwith, in this county, and from Rhaiadr, in the county of Radnor, to Lampeter. The church, dedicated to St. Sulien, and very romantically situated, is an ancient edifice, not distinguished by any architectural details of importance: it consists of a nave and chancel, and the font, which is circular, and of antique design, is ornamented with four human faces. There is a place of worship for Baptists, with a Sunday school held in it.[1]

For more information see Silian at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records =

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 368-374. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 January 2014, at 22:00.
  • This page has been accessed 312 times.