Silk Willoughby, LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Parishes

Silk Willoughby, Lincolnshire
Silk Willoughby St Denis Lincolnshire.jpg
Silk Willoughby St Denis Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aswardhurn
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford PLU
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aswardhurn with Lafford
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WILLOUGHBY-SILK, a parish in Sleaford district, Lincoln: 1¾ mile SSW of Sleaford r. station. Post town, Sleaford.[1]

Silk Willoughby St Denis is an Ancient Parish which includes Silkby.

The Norman Church restored in subsequent centuries notably in 1878 and 1907-1908 is dedicated to St Denys in older records but the more modern spelling may have been adopted due to proximity to the New Sleaford, Lincolnshire St Denys. Saint Denys or Saint Denis are alternative spellings for the same person. The small village is two miles south of Sleaford.

Resources

Civil Registration

The parish was within the Sleaford sub-district of Sleaford registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Silk Willoughby Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Willoughby, Silk

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438759.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazateer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 September 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 July 2014, at 14:49.
  • This page has been accessed 794 times.