Silloth St Paul, Cumberland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Silloth St Paul, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Silloth St Paul, Cumberland|
|Hundred||Allerdale below Derwent|
|Poor Law Union||Wigton PLU|
|Parish registers: 1849|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
SILLOTH, a seaport town and a chapelry, in Holme-Cultram parish, Cumberland, 22½ miles W by S of Carlisle.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish registers for St. Paul's Church, Silloth, 1849-1962
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241279.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:45.
- This page has been accessed 950 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More