Singleton, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Singlrton, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Westbourne and Singleton|
|Poor Law Union||Westhampnett|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1591|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
SINGLETON, a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Westbourn and Singleton, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 6 miles (S.) from Midhurst. Contains also the hamlet of Charlton. The village is situated on the road from London to Chichester, by way of Midhurst. 
Singleton is a village and civil parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex. Singleton West Sussex Wikipedia
Singleton St Mary is an Ancient Parish and the history of the church may be found at Sussex Parish Churches Singleton St Mary The Ancient Parish included the hamlet of Charlton Charlton West Sussex Wikipedia
The Parish Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary Charlton Road Singleton has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Singleton, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Singleton, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
||1559-1901 (gaps)|| |
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Singleton
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464156.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions
There are 80 1641 protestation returns in the database for this parish at Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 110-113. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
- This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 21:35.
- This page has been accessed 2,122 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News