Sint Maarten GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sint Maarten)

Netherlands Gotoarrow.png Caribbean Gotoarrow.png Netherlands Antilles Gotoarrow.png Sint Maarten

Guide to Sint Maarten Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

See also Netherlands Antilles (dissolved in 2010).

News
  • (Your Bullets here)

more...

Events
  • (Your Bullets here)
Topics

Contents

CourthouseSXM.png
Sint  Maarten/Saint Martin is a tropical island in the northeast Caribbean, approximately 300 km (186 miles) east of Puerto Rico. The 87 km² island is divided roughly in half between France and the Netherlands Antilles; it is the smallest inhabited sea island divided between two nations. The southern Dutch half comprises the Eilandgebied Sint Maarten (Island area of St. Martin) and was formerly part of the Netherlands Antilles dissolved in 2010. Sint Maarten is now a constituent country of the Netherlands. The northern French half comprises the Collectivité de Saint-Martin (Collectivity of St. Martin) and is an overseas collectivity of France.

Sint Maarten uses the euro as its currency; while Sint Maarten is currently outside the Eurozone and uses the Netherlands Antillean guilder, pegged at 1.79 per United States dollar. It is unknown if Sint Maarten will shift to the euro some time after the Netherlands Antilles dissolves.

Saint martin map.png

Jurisdictions

The Netherlands built a colony 1631, but French and British settlements also built up. Spain captured the island in 1633, but sailed away in 1648. The Netherlands and France split the island in 1648. The French-Netherlands border on the island was contested and changed 16 times between 1648 and 1816.[1]

Netherlands Antilles

  • Philipsburg with 1,228 inhabitants and the capital of Sint Maarten
  • Lower Prince's Quarter with 8,123 inhabitants
  • Cul de Sac with 7,880 inhabitants
  • Cole Bay with 6,046 inhabitants
  • Upper Prince's Quarter with 4,020 inhabitants
  • Little Bay (Fort Amsterdam) with 2,176 inhabitants
  • Simpson Bay with 736 inhabitants
  • Lowlands with 232 inhabitants

Simpsonbay, Madame Estate, Dutch Cul-de-sac, Dutch Quarter, Cole Bay, Oyster pond, South Reward, Saint-Peters, Pointe-Blanche, Middle Region, Cay hill, Upper Prince's Quarter and Lower Prince's Quarter.

Did you know?

The Netherlands Antilles was dissolved in 2010. Sint Maarten is now a "constituent country" of the Netherlands.

Research Tools

(Add text and/or an image here)

American University

American university of the Caribbean, Sint Maarten.jpg

For more information about the Schools of Sint Maarten check out the School topic tab.

(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

Things you can do

(In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:

References

  1. History of Saint Martin in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia (accessed 7 October 2015).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 October 2015, at 11:46.
  • This page has been accessed 6,752 times.