Six Nations Indian Agency (New York)Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Six Nations Indian Agency (New York) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency
The Six Nations Agency (also called the Seneca Agency in New York) was established in 1792 and was located on western New York. The majority of the Indians under this agency were Seneca, although the St. Regis Band of the Iroquois was assigned to the Six Nations Agency, even though they were not considered a part of the Six Nations. Also, the Stockbridge, Munsee, and Brotherton Indians (all of which were Algonquin) and the Oneida Indians were under the Six Nations Agency until they moved to Wisconsin. Some of the Seneca Indians living in Ohio were also assigned to the Piqua Agency.
The Six Nations Agency was located at Canandaigua, New York until 1829; at Medina from 1829 to 1832; and at Buffalo after 1832.
Agents and Appointment Dates
Israel Chapin 1792, Callender Irvine 1802, Erastus Granger 1804, Jasper Parrish (subagent) 1803, Justus Ingersoll (superintendent)1829, James Stryker (subagent) 1832
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
Letters received by the Office of Indian Affairs from the Six Nations Agency, 1824-1834, have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M234, Roll 832. Copies are available at the National Archives and at the Family History Library and its family history centers on their microfilm roll number 1661562.
- ↑ Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974, pp. 172-173.
- ↑ Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974, pp. 167-168.
- ↑ American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M234, p. 8.
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
- Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
- Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
- Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
- Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online
- This page was last modified on 31 March 2015, at 18:39.
- This page has been accessed 1,977 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More