Sjømannsmisjon (London-England), NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngBergen City Gotoarrow.pngSjømannsmisjon (London-England),

Guide to Sjømannsmisjon (London-England), Bergen City, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Rotherhithe St Olavs, London.jpg

These church records were made by the Norwegian seaman's priests at the London, England station. They include the births, confirmations, marriages, and deaths of the seamen and their families.

The priest were required to make two copies of the original records. One copy was sent to the secretary of the Norwegian seamans mission in Bergen, Norway and the other copy was sent to the bishop of the State Church (Lutheran) in Bergen, Norway during the month of Feb. each year.

For each ordinance that the priest performed he was also required to sent a certificate of the ordinance to the priest in the home town of the seaman for recording in that church book as well. 

Microfilm of the original records are available at the Family History Library for the years 1868-1887.

Digitized images of the original records (1868-1887) are available at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives)


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 April 2015, at 20:36.
  • This page has been accessed 672 times.