Sjernarøy, NorwayEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sjernarøy, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records
Church RecordsNedstrand (Hinderå) and Sjernarøy with Skjoldastraumen (Vårneset) chapell. Hinderå was changed to Nedstrand in 1881 and Vårneset to Skjoldastraumen in 1975. An extract of Nedstrand (formerly Hinneraae) church records which include Sjernarøy in Rogaland county, 1724-1740 by Ola Aurenes.These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
1664-1666 Census (Manntall)
Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 Microfilm
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.
- 1701 Census (Manntall)
Manntall 1701 Microfilm
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.
Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database
- 1801 Census (Folketellingen)
The 1801 census (b. 39) for Nedstrand (Hinderå) clerical district includes Nedstrand and Sjernarøy parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.
- 1865 Census (Folketellingen)
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.
1865-telling for Nærstrand Database
- 1875 Census (Folketellingen)
This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.
1875-teljinga for Nærstrand Database
- 1900 Census (Folketellingen)
This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.
1900-telling for Stjernerø Database
- 1910 Census (Folketellingen]
For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `
A genealogy of the people and their farms in Sjernarøy in Nedstrand clerical district in Rogaland county with some history.
Løland, Jacob Sverre, "Sjernarøy bygdebok: gard og ætt," Finnøy: Utgevar: Finnøy kommune, 1972. 948.31/S5 D2L FHL INTL Book A farm name index to this book is found at the following link. File:948.31-S5 D2L - SJERNARØY.pdf
"Index to Sjernarøy bygdebok" by Jørg Eirik Waula. Stavanger, Norway: Rogaland Historie og Ættesogelag, 1995.
|The farm name index referenced above includes many more names than the list below.|
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
7 Atletveit 20 Aubø 14 Berge vestre 8 Eide 24 Eik 19 Fure 9 Haale 22 Hauge 28 Helgøen 3 Hetletveit 12 Hille nordre 2 Jørstad 4 Kalleim 24 Kalvhagen 16 Kvelland 5 Kyle 21 Lauarviken 25 Lillehage 23 Lund 10 Løland 17 Neseim 21 Noreim 21 Ramsvik 1 Røreim 13 Skjelsnes 6 Sølberg 27 Talgø 25 Tandrevold 26 Tjul 18 Vinje
- This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 18:51.
- This page has been accessed 1,753 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News