Skaraborg County, Sweden GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Skaraborg County, Sweden)

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSweden Gotoarrow.pngSkaraborg County


Guide to Skaraborg County, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

Image of county shield here.

Contents

History

Skaraborg County was created in 1634 when the Ståthållardömet was divided into the Counties of Skaraborg and Älvsborg. The name of the County has its origins with the authority based on the residence city of Skara. In 1660 the authority base was changed to the residence city of Mariestad and the County is sometimes referred to as Mariestad County. Skaraborg County was dissolved on Dec. 31, 1997 when it became part of Västra Götaland County.

Skaraborg County was the northern part of Västergötland Province.

The southern part of Västergötland Province belonged to Älvsborg County.

The county letter for Skaraborg is: R

Tools

  • Maps
  • Skaraborg Word List

Districts

  • Barne härad
  • Frökinds härad
  • Gudhems härad
  • Kinne härad
  • Kinnefjärdings härad
  • Kåkinds härad
  • Kållands härad
  • Laske härad
  • Leaby tingslag
  • Skånings härad
  • Slättängs tingslag
  • Vadsbo härad
  • Valla tingslag
  • Valle härad
  • Vartofta härad
  • Vilske härad
  • Viste härad
  • Åse härad


Parishes




News
  • (Latest news for research in Skaraborg here)

more... 

Topics
  • Archives
  • Economy
  • Geography
  • Historical Timeline
  • Language
  • Military
FamilySearch Indexing


FamilySearch Forums




 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 6,963 times.