Skegby, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to: Skegby, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Skegby St Andrew Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Mansfield PLU|
|Parish registers: 1569|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Probate Court||Manor of Skegby and Teversal|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
SKEGBY, a parish, in the union of Mansfield, N. division of the wapentake of Broxtow and of the county of Nottingham, 3 miles (W.) from Mansfield. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.
Skegby St Andrew is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Nottinghamshire, created in 1771 from chapelry in Mansfield St Peter and St Paul, Nottinghamshire Ancient Parish.
The parish Church of St Andrew Mansfield Road Sutton in Ashfield has been designated a grade II listed building British listed building
See Skegby Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837; for registration district history Mansfield registration district
Certificates may be obtained from:
The Register Office
100 Chesterfield Road South
Phone 01623 476564
Fax 01623 636284
Skegby St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|SKEGBY PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1572-1959 Marriages 1569-1959 Burials 1569-1952 Bishop's Transcripts 1626-1983
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Skegby
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 20:04.
- This page has been accessed 2,241 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News