Skien, Telemark, Norway GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Skien, Norway)

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngTelemark County Gotoarrow.pngSkien

Guide to Skien, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Contents

Church Records

Skien clerical district contains parish registers from Skien parish. Included Mælum and Solum until 1738. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1659-1931.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Skien: 1659-1679, 1716-1972

Solum: 1701-1876, 1919-1966

Census Records

  • 1664-1666 Census This census was taken by the local civil authorities.Bamle (Bamble) fogderi b. 6 was for Gjerpen clerical district. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Film 122978 Item 1

Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet, Øvre Telemark fogderi, Nedre Telemark fogderi, Bamble fogderi, Manntall 6, 1664. Digitalarkivet also has an online database, Manntall 1663-66 for Bamle, Øvre og Nedre Telemark.

  • 1664-1666 Census Sogneprestenes manntall. Bamle (Bamble) prosti census was taken by the local parish priests. Gjerpen clerical district included Gjerpen parish and Skien. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library onFilm 122968 Item 5

Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet, Øvre Telemark prosti, Nedre Telemark prosti, Bamble prosti, Manntall 12, 1664 - 1666.

  • 1815 Census for Skien clerical district is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 1694667 Item 3.
  • 1835 Census for Skien clerical district is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 1694665 Item 5.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Probate Records

Skien city district
*1693-1880 Family History Library
*1693-1880 Digitalarkivet

Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet

Probate Register for Skien 1666-1808 at Digitalarkivet.

Websites

Skien genealogical page


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 June 2015, at 16:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,589 times.