Skudenes, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Norway > Rogaland County > Skudenes

Skudenes is in the Karmøy Region. Other parishes in this region include Karmøy the parishes of Avaldsnes, Kopervik (Stangeland), Skudenes, Skudeneshavn, Torvastad (Torvestad), Falnes, Ferkingstad and Åkra.

Contents

Church Records

Skudenes clerical district contains priest and sexton records from the parishes Falnes with Skudeneshavn and Ferkingstad in Skudenes (Skudesnes) clerical district. Included Bokn (Bukken) parish until 1848 when it was annexed to Tysvær clerical district and Åkra parish until 1887 when it was annexed to Kopervik clerical district. Earlier church records were burned in 1841. Book 1 is a record made by the priest about 1847 of church affairs before 1842. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Digital images of the church books are available at Digitalarkivet.

Skudenes: 1758, 1770-1881

Skudenes / Falnes: 1848-1937

Skudenes / Ferkingstad: 1848-1943

Skudenes / Skudeneshavn: 1882-1936

Skudenes / Åkra: 1848-1881

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person.

Stavanger II Database

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database

The 1801 census (b. 39) for Skudenes clerical district includes Skudenes, Falnes, Ferkingstad, Bokn, and Åkra parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for Schudenæs Database

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Skudesnæs Database

This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.

1875-teljinga for Skudenes landdistrikt Database

This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for Skudenæs Database

Probate Records

For 1666-1795 the probates are found in Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district.
For 1793-1901 they are found in Karmsund judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1692-1812 are found in Karmsund deanery.

Availability

Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district
*1666-1795 Family History Library
*1666-1795 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1815 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Karmsund judicial district
*1793-1901 Family History Library
*1793-1901 Digitalarkivet.

Karmsund deanery
*1692-1812 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1692-1812 Digitalarkivet.

Skudenes police station
*1884-1977 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Books

  • A genealogy of the people and their farms in Skudenes and Skudeneshavn on Karmøy in Rogaland county with some history.

Lillehammer, Arnvid, "Skudenes og Skudeneshavn," Karmøy: Utgitt av bygdebokutvalget i Karmøy, 1982. 948.31/S12 D2L FHL INTL Book

  • Family Group Record forms of the families living in the parishes Falnes, Ferkingstad, Akre and Bokn in Skudenes clerical district before Oct 1841. The parish records were destroyed in a fire in Oct 1841. These records were compiled from the priests survey (G.S. film number 126304) and from the 1758 and 1801 census records. These records are arranged in alphabetical order by the husbands first name.

"Families in Skudenes clerical district from 1670 to 1842," Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1980. FHL INTL Film 1124522 (Names 1670-1842, A - M) FHL INTL Film 1124523 Item 1 (Names 1670-1842, M - Z 1670-1800 A - V (Bokn)).

Farm Book on the Internet

Karmøy Genealogy Club is creating an internet accessable listing of the families who have lived on Karmøy. The sources for this website are "Bygdebok for Karmøy," Norges Bybyggelse, notes of Johannes Mjølhus, the church books, probate records, census records, and private family information.

The family listings are by the farm which they lived on. The explanation of the website is in English but the family information is in Norwegian.

You will find a list of all the farms which are found in the modern Karmøy kommune. As the information comes available there will be a link from the table to the information on a specific farm. On the internet you will only find information of those inhabitants who had registered descendants. A more complete listing is found in the office in Skudeneshavn. You can E-mail inquires to Slektsforum.karmoy@c2i.net.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 January 2014, at 01:04.
  • This page has been accessed 995 times.