Smalley, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Smalley, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Smalley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Smalley, Derbyshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Belper PLU
Registration District Belper
Records begin
Parish registers: 1624; For more records see Morley
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Duffield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SMALLEY, a chapelry, in the parish of Morley, union of Belper, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 7 miles (N. E.) from Derby. . The Anabaptists have a place of worship in the village. [1]

Smalley St John the Baptist was a chapelry of Morley, Derbyshire Ancient Parish in Derbyshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Smalley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
Smalley St John the Baptist(1624)Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None 1624-1837 None 1663-1800 None
FS PR's
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
1881-1882
NONE

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1868 Mar 1662-1856 Burials 1662-1868

Non-Conformist Churches

General Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241293.


Poor Law Unions

Belper Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Smalley on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 123-125. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 15:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,345 times.