Smith County, Kansas GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Smith County, Kansas)

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Smith County

Guide to Smith County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

{{{link}}}Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Smith County, Kansas
Map of Kansas highlighting Smith County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Founded February 26, 1867
County Seat Smith Center
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Smith County Courthouse
218 S. Grant Street
Smith Center, Kansas 66967-2798
Phone: 785.282.5110


County Information

Smith County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1891 1872 1891 1860 1872 1875

County Courthouse

Smith County Courthouse
218 S Grant Street
Smith Center, KS 66967
Phone: 785.282.6533

Probate Judge has marriage and probate records from 1875.
Clerk District Court has divorce and court records from 1875.
County Clerk has land records from 1872. [2]


Parent County

1867--Smith County was created 26 February 1867 from unorganized territory.County seat: Smith Center [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss


Populated Places

  • Lebanon
  • Smith Center

Neighboring Counties





Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.

  • Records of the Christ Lutheran Church, Gaylord, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at ($).



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Smith County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Plat Book, Smith County, Kansas, 1900, Northwest Publishing Co.[4]  This atlas shows maps of each township with the names of landowners. It has a patrons' directory and plats of towns as of the year of publication.


Smith County was organized after the Civil War.


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Smith County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Smith and click Probate records.


Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth Records
Death Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Smith Center Public Library: Library holdings can be searched in Pathfinder Central. The library may have cataloged unique items related to genealogy and local history, in addition to published works for this area.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [ online FHC director for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Smith County, Kansas page 256, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Kansas Memory, Kansas Historical Society


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 October 2015, at 18:25.
  • This page has been accessed 5,541 times.