Sneyd, Staffordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sneyd, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wolstanton and Burslem PLU|
|Parish registers: 1845|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Stoke upon Trent|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Sneyd is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1844 from Burslem, Staffordshire Ecclesiastical Parish.
SNEYD, a township, in the parish of Burslem, borough of Stoke-upon-Trent, union of Wolstantonand Burslem, N. division of the hundred of Pirehilland of the county of Stafford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. Another dissenting congregation also has a meeting-house. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Sneyd Holy Trinity was formed in 1844 from part of Burslem, Staffordshire St John
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474619.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:40.
- This page has been accessed 1,614 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More