Solum, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Norway > Telemark County > Solum

Contents

Church Records

Solum clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Solum, Mælum and Kilebygda. They were separated from Skien clerical district in 1738 and annexed to Gjerpen clerical distict until 1856. Included Vestre Porsgrunn until 1763. See Skien for earlier records.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1701-1927.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Solum: 1701-1966

Solum / Kilebygd: 1877-1934

Solum / Mælum: 1848-1927

Solum / Solum: 1848-1937, 1966-1974

Solum / Østre Mælum: 1929-1963

Skien: 1659-1679, 1716-1972

Census Records

  • 1664-1666 Census This census was taken by the local civil authorities. Øvre og Nedre Telemarken fogderi b. 6 was for Solum clerical district and included Solum parish and Mælum parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Film 122978 Item 1

Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet, Øvre Telemark fogderi, Nedre Telemark fogderi, Bamble fogderi, Manntall 6, 1664. Digitalarkivet also has an online database, Manntall 1663-66 for Bamle, Øvre og Nedre Telemark.

  • 1664-1666 Census Sogneprestenes manntall. This census was taken by the local parish priests.Solum clerical district included Solum parish and Mælum parish. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Film 122968 Item 5

Scanned images are online at Digitalarkivet, Øvre Telemark prosti, Nedre Telemark prosti, Bamble prosti, Manntall 12, 1664 - 1666.

  • 1729 Census The 1729 census for Porsgrunn clerical district. The east side of Porsgrunn used to belong to Eidanger, and the west side of Porsgrunn to Solum until 1763 when Porsgrunn became its own clerical district. Includes the head of household or his widow, children, servants, soldiers, retired persons, age, sex, occupation and some miscellaneous information. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Film 1694685 Item 4
  • 1782 Census The 1782 census forSolum clerical district and included Solum parish and Mælum parish. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet, Folketeljinga 1782 frå Solum.
  • 1801 Census The 1801 census (b. 30) for Solum clerical district includes Solum, Kilebygda and Mælum parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 122998 Item 2. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet. 1801-telling for 0818 Solum
  • 1835 Census The 1835 census for Gjerpen clerical district which at this timeperiod included the parishes Gjerpen and Solum. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 1694665 Item 8.
  • 1845 Census The 1845 census for Gjerpen clerical district which at this time period included the parishes Gjerpen and Solum. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 1694665 Item 9.
  • 1865 Census The 1865 census for Solum clerical district includes Solum, Kilebygda and Mælum parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Film 123159 Item 2. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet. 1865-telling for 0818 Solum
  • 1900 Census The 1900 census for Solum clerical district includes Solum, Kilebygda and Mælum parishes. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library Films 275243-275248. A searchable database is online at Digitalarkivet. 0818 Kilebygden, Solum

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Farm Names

12 Aafoss 13 Aafosskaasa 26 Aannerød 13 Aasland 13 Amordokken 16 Bakkene 21 Bjørnstad 21 Bjørntvet 21 Bugtekaasa 21 Bugten 12 Dagsrud 6 Dalen 13 Elset 9 Eltvet vestre 21 Fantenberg og Eikelund 1 Findal lille 15 Fjære 13 Gaasodden 17 Gimsø Kloster 10 Grimholt 33 Grøtviken 24 Gudmundsplads 18 Hakestensfaret 23 Haraldskaas 12 Haukenes 20 Hegna 4 Holtan 33 Hovland 23 Hulka 5 Hvalen 23 Høstekaasa 21 Jytekaasa 14 Kaasene 21 Kapeljordet og Kirkejordet 20 Kjerringteigen 12 Kjeøen 20 Kjørbæk 14 Klovholt 14 Klovland 7 Klyve vestre 23 Klyve østre 23 Klyvekaasa 24 Knardal 24 Knardalskaas 23 Kvernekaasa, Vetlekaas og Sparekaasa 21 Lahelle 26 Lakaasene 21 Larydningen 21 Lergranstrand 6 Lien 9 Løktaaskaasa 13 Masteflet 30 Meltvet 22 Moldhaugen 21 Moldhaugkaasa 21 Mon 21 Nenset 10 Nyhus 11 Pladsen 3 Præstegaarden 33 Rambæk [ ] 11 Rokstad 23 Rugla 25 Rugtvet 21 Rydningen 23 Rydningen 21 Rødmyr 27 Røraa 11 Skjelbrei nordre 20 Slaattehagen 21 Smedkaasa 23 Sorgenfri 26 Sponsletten 16 Steinsrød 13 Sutterviken 23 Svass 31 Søtvet nordre 21 Tolnes 23 Tormo 21 Tromdalskaas 26 Trættekaasa 23 Tuftekaas 13 Tute 29 Veholt 21 Villumskaas 19 Vindalen 21 Vrigtekaasa 28 Ørvik 13 Østgaarden

Probate Records

Nedre Telemark judicial district
*1667-1834 Family History Library
*1667-1834 Digitalarkivet

Telemark and Bamble deanery
*1696-1806 Family History Library
*1696-1806 Digitalarkivet

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 January 2014, at 19:44.
  • This page has been accessed 789 times.