Soma, NorwayEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Soma, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records
Records begin in 1691 for Høyland clerical district contains priest and sexton records for Høyland parish with Sviland chapel, Sandnes and Soma. Sandnes became its own parish in 1880 and its own clerical distric in 1914. Soma was discontinued in 1839 and was from then on included in Høyland parish. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.
1664-1666 Census (Manntall)
Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 Microfilm
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.
Manntall 1663-66 for Stavanger amt I Database
- 1701 Census (Manntall)
Manntall 1701 Høyland Microfilm
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.
Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database
- 1801 Census (Folketellingen)
The 1801 census (b. 38) for Høyland clerical district includes Høyland Soma, and Sandnes parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.
1801-telling for Høyland Database
1815 Census (Folketelling)
The 1815 census of Høyland clerical district includes Sandnes. It lists the farm name, persons name, and age.
- 1865 Census (Folketellingen)
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.
1865-telling for Høiland Database
- 1875 Census (Folketellingen)
This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.
1875-teljinga for Høiland Database
- 1900 Census (Folketellingen)
This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.
1900-telling for Høiland Database
- 1910 Census (Folketellingen]
 Countdown for the release of the 1910 census database.
1666-1822: Probate records will be in the Jæren og Dalane judicial district.
1823-1896: Probate records will be in the Jæren judicial district.
1823-1896: Clerical probate records will be in the Jæren Deanery.
The probate records usually contain the date of probate, name of the deceased, names of heirs, guardians and trustees, inventory lists, land and holdings, and other miscellaneous information.
Local history and genealogy. Part of a projected series.
Aurenes, Ola, "Høyland gards- og ættesoge gjennom 400 år, 1500-1900", [S.l.]: Utgjeven ved Høyland kommune,  948.31/H1 D2a FHL Intl Book
- This page was last modified on 28 May 2015, at 18:58.
- This page has been accessed 1,112 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News