Old Somerby (with Great Humby), Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Old Somerby (with Great Humby), Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Old Somerby (with Great Humby), Lincolnshire
St+Mary+Magdalen Old+Somerby Lincolnshire.JPG
St+Mary+Magdalen Old+Somerby Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Winnibriggs and Threo
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Grantham PLU
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1730
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grantham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SOMERBY (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Grantham, wapentake of Winnibriggs and Threo, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 4 miles (S. E. by E.) from Grantham; with the chapelry of Great Humby. [1]

Old Somerby St Mary Magdalene is an Ancient Parish which includes Great Humby and Dunsthorpe.

The Church is listed as a National Monument by English Heritage and there was a chapel of ease for the parish at Great Humby Old Somerby is situated three miles east of the town of Grantham in southern Lincolnshire in South Kesteven. Neighbouring parishes include Ropsley, Lincolnshire and Boothby Pagnell, Lincolnshire

This parish should not be confused with Somerby, Lincolnshire

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Somerby by Grantham Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Somerbywith Great Humby

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438758.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Somerby/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 May 2015, at 00:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,977 times.