Somerleyton, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Somerleyton, Suffolk)
England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes  Gotoarrow.png Somerleyton
Somerleyton, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mutford and Lothingland
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Mutford and Lothingland PLU
Registration District Mutford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lothingland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SOMERLEYTON (St. Mary), an ancient parish, in the diocese of Norwich, in the incorporation and hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 5 miles (N. W. by N.) from Lowestoft.[1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Parish Records

Somerleyton, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[9]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[10]
Somerleyton, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1558-1837

FMP 1558-1900
FREG
1837-1901

FS PRs Undefined 1558-1905 Undefined 1558-1811, 1837-1901 Undefined 1558-1811
IGI 1571-1873
JOIN
1559-1837

NBI

1654-1900
PRTS 1561-1902
1851-1887
1559-1908
TGEN
1559-1837

Images of the parish registers are available on FamilySearch Historical Records.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474640.


Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

Somerleyton is in Mutford district. To search an index of Mutford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article provides more details. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Maps

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 133-139. Date accessed: 08 October 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Baptism Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  4. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  7. 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  9. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  10. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:41.
  • This page has been accessed 765 times.