Sonning, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sonning, Berkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes 

Guide to Sonning, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sonning, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sonning
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wokingham PLU
Registration District Henley; Wokingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1592
Bishop's Transcripts: 1592
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post 1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SONNING (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Wokingham, partly in the hundred of Binfield, county of Oxford, but chiefly in the hundreds of Charlton and Sonning, county of Berks, 3½ miles (E. N. E.) from Reading Here is a place of worship for Independents. [1]


Sonning is an Ancient Parish partly in Berkshire and partly in Oxfordshire.

Other places in the parish include: Sandford, Woodley and Sandford, Woodley, and Sonning Town. A more detailed description is available in Genuki.org.uk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sonning, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
Sonning, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK

Undefined
Undefined

FamilySeach Catalog: Follow the link to view available records.

Genuki.org.uk has additional information on the availability of church records.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241205.

To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.

findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
Ancestry.co.uk (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
The Genealogist.co.uk (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions. 
 

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sonning in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 133-139. Date accessed: 3 October 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 18:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,153 times.