South Australia, AustraliaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Australia South Australia
Guide to South Australia, Australia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|News and Events|
Getting started with South Australia research
Numerous articles are available on FamilySearch Wiki to help you get started in family history. This portal will provide links to articles about general research topics.
Principles of Family History Research
- Identify What You Know
- Decide What You Want to Learn
- Select Records to Search
- Obtain and Search the Records
- Use the Information
Regions and Islands of South Australia
Kangaroo Island is a pristine wilderness - a place that has offered protection to substantial populations of native Australian animals and a place of beauty. It is 18 km off the coast of South Australia and has a population of just 4,400 people.
Northern Regions and Outback of South Australia
This list is not exhaustive, but includes organisations which are particularly concerned with the history of local areas, the preservation of specific locations, buildings and historic sites, or the operation of historical museums. Not all places have online resources, but they do have addresses that can be written to, and in some cases email addresses.
Clicking on the title above, will take you to a website where you can click on the area you are interested in.
The list is organised according to Local Government Area (LGA). Over the past few years many councils, both municipal and rural, have amalgamated. The list below shows LGA names current at June 1998.
The area consists of the following places:
- Flinders Ranges - includes Hawker, Kanyaka and Quorn
- Mount Remarkable
- Northern Areas iIncludes Booleroo, Georgetown, Gladstone, Jamestown, Laura, Rocky River, Spalding and Yacka
- Orroroo - Carrieton
- Port Augusta
- Port Pirie - includes Crystal Brook and Redhill
- Marree, Radium Hill and Yunta
- Coober Pedy
- Roxby Downs
Beyond South Australian Borders
- Alice Springs, Northern Territory
- Broken Hill, New South Wales
Interested in editing or adding to the Wiki? The South Australia page needs you! Here are some simple ways you can add information other researchers need!
Things You Can Do
(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)
- This page was last modified on 2 February 2016, at 03:54.
- This page has been accessed 7,257 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News