South Elmham - St Cross, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes  Gotoarrow.png South Elmham - St Cross

South Elmham - St Cross, Suffolk
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wangford
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Wangford PLU
Registration District Wangford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Homersfield beginning 1858
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698; Separate records exist for Homersfield beginning 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Elmham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ELMHAM, SOUTH, ST. CROSS (St. George), a parish, in the union and hundred of Wangford, E. division of Suffolk, 4 miles (E. by N.) from Harleston.[1]


Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

South Elmham - St Cross is in Wangford district. To search an index of Wangford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

South Elmham - St Cross, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
South Elmham - St Cross, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1562-1751

FREG 1558-1920
1562-1906
1557-1996
IGI 1558-1875 1562-1875
NBI

1558-1900
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for St Cross South Elmham from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to FamilySearch Catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other things of interest.
  • National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 161-164. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:41.
  • This page has been accessed 865 times.