South Hylton, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from South Hylton, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to South Hylton, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Hylton, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easington; Sunderland Town
County Durham
Poor Law Union Sunderland
Registration District Easington; Houghton le Spring; Sunderland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1821
Bishop's Transcripts: 1821
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Easington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office


Parish History

HYLTON, a township, in the parish of Monk-Wearmouth, union of Sunderland, E. division of Chester ward, N. division of the county of Durham, 3 miles (W. N. W.) from Sunderland.[1]

Hylton, South, eccl. dist., Bishop Wearmouth parish., Durham.[2]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

England, Durham, South Hylton, bishop's transcripts, 1821-1842
Author: Church of England. Chapelry of Ford (Durham); Durham University Library found at the FamilySearch Historical Records brouse online

Non-Conformist Churches


Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241347.

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Union

Sunderland Poor Law Union, Durham

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain


South Hylton or Ford (see Bishopwearmouth) on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2013.
  2. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles, (1887). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 02:54.
  • This page has been accessed 1,480 times.