South Newington, Oxfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from South Newington, Oxfordshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to South Newington, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
South Newington, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wootton
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Banbury
Registration District Banbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669; 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Deddington
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office


Parish History

NEWINGTON, SOUTH (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Banbury, hundred of Wootton, county of Oxford, 5¾ miles (S. W. by S.) from Banbury.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

South Newington, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
South Newington, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1538-1989

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474576.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 394-398. Date accessed: 02 October 2012.
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 May 2015, at 00:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,286 times.