South Normanton, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from South Normanton, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to South Normanton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Normanton, Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Mansfield PLU
Registration District Mansfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1540
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alfreton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NORMANTON, SOUTH (St. Mary), an ancient parish, in the union of Mansfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 2 miles (E. N. E.) from Alfreton. The Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists have places of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837; for registration district history Mansfield registration district

Church records

South Normanton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
South Normanton St Michael (1540) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None 1800-1840 None 1790-1840 None
FS PR's
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1664-1868 Mar 1664-1836 Burials 1664-1868 Missing Bap/Bur 1838

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241297.


Derbyshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Mansfield Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

South Normanton on GENUKI

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 421-423. Date accessed: 17 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,422 times.