South Savernake with Brimslade and Cadley, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes

Guide to South Savernake with Brimslade and Cadley, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Savernake with Brimslade and Cadley, Wiltshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kinwardstone
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Marlborough
Registration District Marlborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1851
Bishop's Transcripts: 1851
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office


Parish History

SAVERNAKE-FOREST, or South Side, an extra-parochial district, in the hundred of Kinwardstone,Marlborough and Ramsbury, and N. divisions of the county of Wilts, 2 miles (S.) from Marlborough.[1] [2]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464198.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 20-23. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
  2. From: 'Saredon - Savernake-Park', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 20-23. British HistoryDate accessed: 14 October 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 May 2015, at 11:36.
  • This page has been accessed 1,574 times.