South Shields St Hilda, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from South Shields, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to South Shields St Hilda, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Shields St Hilda, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union South Shields PLU
Registration District South Shields
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1763
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHIELDS, SOUTH, a sea-port, a chapel of ease, a borough, and township, and the head of a union, in the parish of Jarrow (which also see), E. division of Chester ward, N. division of Durham, 20 miles (N. N. E.) from Durham, and 278 (N. N. W.) from London. The ancient chapel of St. Hilda was rebuilt in 1810. Another dedicated to the Holy Trinity was erected; and an additional church has been erected, dedicated to St. Stephen. There are three places of worship belonging to the Wesleyans; two each to the Baptists, Presbyterians, and Methodists of the New Connexion; and one each to the Independents, Primitive Methodists, and members of the United Secession Church. [1]

Additional information: South Shields St Hilda was an ancient chapelry created from the ancient parish of Jarrow (St Paul) by the year 1653. St Hilda's became a parish in 1845 and parts of the parish formed other parishes: Harton St. Peter (1864); South Shields Holy Trinity (1848); South Shields St. Aidan (1885); South Shields St. Stephen (1848); South Westoe St. Michael and All Angels (1878); Westoe St. Thomas (1864)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Parish Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/227 Date: 1763-1891 Contents: Including transcripts from South Shields Holy Trinity, September 1834-1848, and South Shields St Stephen, October 1846-1848 DDR/EA/PBT/2/226  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. FamilySearch Historical Records images await engineering correction and should be located at present via "St Hilda's" in the Durham images.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1653-1953 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/SS.SH).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Church of Scotland/Scottish Presbyterian
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Presbyterian
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • United Presbyterian Church of Scotland
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241346.


Poor Law Unions

South Shields Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

South Shields St Hilda on Genuki

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-80. Adapted. Date accessed: 29 July 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 May 2015, at 02:54.
  • This page has been accessed 4,484 times.