South Shields Holy Trinity, DurhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Contents

Parish History

South Shields Holy Trinity is a Parish created in 1848 from South Shields, Durham St Hilda Parish. Parts of this parish became part of these parishes: Jarrow Docks St. Mary (1864); Rekendyke St. Jude (1978); South Shields St. Jude (1883); South Shields St. Mark (1873) There are three places of worship belonging to the Wesleyans; two each to the Baptists, Presbyterians, and Methodists of the New Connexion; and one each to the Independents, Primitive Methodists, and members of the United Secession Church.[1]
South Shields Holy Trinity, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chester
County Durham
Poor Law Union South Shields PLU
Registration District South Shields
Records begin
Parish records: 1834
Bishop's Transcripts: 1834
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester le Street
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Resources =

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/226 Date: July 1864-1868
Related material at DULASC: South Shields Holy Trinity transcripts September 1834-1848 are included with South Shields St Hilda transcripts DDR/EA/PBT/2/227  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. FamilySearch will need to re-engineer the image collections for South Shields parishes in future.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1834-1980 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/SS.HT).

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241346.

Poor Law Unions

South Shields Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 April 2014, at 21:22.
  • This page has been accessed 738 times.