South Shoebury, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to South Shoebury, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|South Shoebury, Essex|
St Andrew South Shoebury Essex
|Poor Law Union||Rochford|
|Parish registers: 1704|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1802|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
South Shoebury or Shoebury (South), is a parish in Rochford district, Essex; on the coast, opposite the Nore, and 3 miles ESE of Southend railway station. It contains Shoebury-Fort, which has a post-office under Southend.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
South Shoebury, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|South Shoebury, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St Andrew. See also Garrison Church of St Peter and Paul and Shoeburyness Wesleyan Methodist Church
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241375.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
South Shoebury on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 17:51.
- This page has been accessed 3,090 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News