South Stoke, Oxfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from South Stoke, Oxfordshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to South Stoke, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
South Stoke, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dorchester
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Wallingford PLU
Registration District Wallingford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; Separate records exist for Woodcott beginning 1791
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Henley
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STOKE (South), a parish, with a village, and with Woodcot liberty, in the district of Wallingford and county of Oxford; on the river Thames and the Great Western railway, near Moulsford r. station, and 4 miles S of Wallingford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

South Stoke, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
South Stoke, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1557-1941
1577-1978
1552-1903


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474571.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales.
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 May 2015, at 00:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,302 times.