South Stoneham, Hampshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from South Stoneham, Hampshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png South Stoneham

Guide to South Stoneham, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

South Stoneham, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mainsbridge; Southampton Borough
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union South Stoneham
Registration District South Stoneham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1659; Separate registers exist for Highfield Christ Church beginning 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southampton
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of South Stoneham and St Mary Extra with Allington and Shamblehurst; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office


Parish History

STONEHAM, SOUTH (St. Mary), a parish, and the head of a union, partly in the county of the town of Southampton, but chiefly in the hundred of Mansbridge, Southampton and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 3 miles (N. N. E.) from Southampton with the tythings of Allington, Barton, Bittern, Eastley, Pollack, Portswood, and Shamblehurst.[1].


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

South Stoneham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1662-1875

FMP 1700s-1800s
FREG 1780-1812

FS 1663-1875

PRTS 1780-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288802.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 224-229.Date accessed: 05 June 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 24 September 2013.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  4. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 June 2015, at 15:44.
  • This page has been accessed 3,560 times.